Vida Gabor

The painter was born on January 24th, 1937 in Budapest. His mother was an opera singer and a member of the royal Hungarian opera, his father was an architect. In 1945 Vida Gabor visited the catholic piarist grammar school until it became socialised.

In 1947 his parents noticed that Vida Gabor was able to play back exactly classical music on the flute just based on hearing. He was celebrated as a wunderkind and was admitted to the “Ferenc Liszt music academy”. There he was a student of Professor Ferenc Hochstrasser. At the same time he visited the music grammar school in Budapest where he graduated.
In 1950 he began to paint autodidactic pictures with water- and oil colours.

He gave many concerts as the soloist in the Budapest philharmonic orchestra in Hungary and in numerous European cities. Parallel to that he worked on many orders for paintings.

In 1961 Vida Gabor quitted his professorship for flute, which he had done for 16 years.

In 1974 he illustrated the animated cartoon “Hüverlyk Maty” with tempera. Gabor created wood-, gypsum- and bronze sculptures and did a goldsmith apprenticeship. Nevertheless, he did not get the title of master craftsman. The reason for that was that it had been prohibited to deal with the art of gold- forging in the communist Hungary at that time.
In 1977 he started to paint more and more. He prefers the format 40 x 50cm for his pictures. Every single blank is prepared very carefully by the painter. The blank on which he then starts painting is as smooth as glass which gives them an enamel like look at first sight. The transparent ink that he uses is very thin and contains just a few pigments. Therefore it covers the painting without a visible track of the paintbrush.

The creative process can also be seen in Vida Gabor’s works. He modified the genre of dutch painters of the 17th century and of the period of Biedermeier an created his own picture world.

Vida Gabor

Der Maler wurde am 24. Januar 1937 in Budapest geboren. Die Mutter war Opernsängerin und Mitglied des Königlich Ungarischen Opernhausees, der Vater war Architekt.
Vida Gabor besuchte 1945 das katholische Piaristen-Gymnasium bis dieses verstaatlicht wurde.
1947 entdeckten die Eltern, dass Vida Gabor auf der Flöte nach Gehör klassische Musik genau wiedergeben konnte. Er wurde als Wunderkind gefeiert und an der "Ferenc Liszt Musik Akademie" für Flötenunterricht aufgenommen. Hier wurde er Schüler von Prof. Ferenc Hochstrasser. Gleichzeitig besuchte er das Budapester Musikgymnasium, wo er sein Abitur machte.

1950 begann er autodidaktisch Bilder mit Wasser- und Ölfarben zu malen.
1961 beendete Vida Gabor seine 16-jährige Tätigkeit als Professor für Flöte. Davor hatte er als Solist der Budapester Philharmoniker Konzerte in Ungarn und in vielen anderen Städten Europas gegeben. Daneben nahm er viele Aufträge der Malerei an.
1974 illustrierte er mit Tempera die Kinder Trickfilmzeichnung „Hüverlyk Maty“. Vida Gabor schuf Plastiken aus Holz und Gips sowie Bronzefiguren. Er ließ sich als Goldschmied ausbilden. Der Meistertitel wurde im verwehrt, da es im kommunistische regierten Ungarn verboten war, sich mit Goldschmiedekunst zu beschäftigen.

1977 fing er verstärkt an zu malen. Wenn auch einige Frühwerke Vida Gabors andere Bildgrößen aufweisen, bevorzugt er das Format 40 x 50cm auf 10 oder 12 Millimeter starkem Schichtleimholz. Jeder einzelne Zuschnitt für die fertige Malvorlage wird von ihm eigenhändig und sehr aufwendig vorbereitet. Weshalb seine Werle auf den ersten Blick emaileartig wirken liegt daran, dass die Tafel, auf der er zu zeichnen beginnt, durch die spezielle Vorbereitung spiegelglatt ist. Die Lasurfarbe, die er verwendet, ist sehr dünn, reichlich mit Leimöl versetzt, enthält wenig Pigmente und überzieht die Malerei ohne eine Sichtbare Pinselspur.

Der schöpferische Prozess ist auch in Vida Gabors Kunst zu erkennen. Er hat das Genre der niederländischen Maler des 17. Jahrhunderts und des Biedermeier modifiziert und seine eigene Bildwelt geschaffen.